ASV-Label
Login

16px-feed-icon Current projects Diese Seite auf deutsch anzeigen

Post-democracy and Neoliberalism

This project has been ended.

On the usage of neoliberal argumentations in federal German politics between 1949 and 2011

The project „Post-democracy and Neoliberalism“ is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research. In a joint cooperation with political scientists from the Helmut-Schmidt-University Hamburg the NLP group Leipzig seeks to identify momentous changes in justifications of politics in the Federal Republic of Germany.

The keyword „Post-democracy“ marks an intense and critical debate in political theory concerning tendencies of the recent development of liberal democracies. It is observed that markets more and more determine decisions in politics. Neoliberal agendas like deregulation and privatization are proclaimed without alternative. In the end this process leads to disenchantment with politics, lowered voter participation or rise of populist parties and social protest. The quality of democracy measured against an ideal of participation as free and equal as possible, seems to be shrinking.

The research project aims to evaluate these hypotheses of Post-Democracy empirically for Germany. We approach this with an discourse analysis of central neoliberal argumentations in newspaper discourse between 1949 and 2011. Qualitative assessment of the data is thereby complemented with quantitative analysis of the longitudinal media texts. Therefore we exploit more than 3,5 million German newspaper articles with different text mining tools.

Poster
Gerhard, Heyer; Schaal, Gary; Sebastian Dumm; Matthias Lemke; Andreas Niekler; Gregor Wiedemann (2013): Zur Nutzung neoliberaler Argumentationen in der bundesdeutschen Politik 1949–2011. Poster zum Kickoff-Workshop der eHumanities-Verbundprojekte 2013, 08./09. Arpil 2013, Leipzig. [Link to PDF]

Partner

Prof. Dr. Gary S. Schaal
Helmut-Schmidt-Universität Hamburg
Department of political theory
Postfach 700822
22008 Hamburg
http://www.hsu-hh.de/politiktheorie


Support program: Federal Ministry of Education and Research
Partner: Helmut-Schmidt-University Hamburg
Time frame: 05/2012 - 04/2015

Kontakt: Dr. Andreas Niekler, Dr. Gregor Wiedemann, Prof. Dr. Gerhard Heyer

Publications

other link iconFurther informations

ASV-Label
Login

16px-feed-icon Laufende Projekte View this page in English

Postdemokratie und Neoliberalismus

Dieses Projekt ist beendet.

Zur Nutzung neoliberaler Argumentationen in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland 1949-2011

Das Projekt „Postdemokratie und Neoliberalismus“ wird im Rahmen einer Förderlinie des BMBF für die e-Humanities gefördert. Mithilfe (halb-)automatischer Analysen von Medientexten gehen Politikwissenschaftler von der Helmut-Schmidt-Universität in Hamburg gemeinsam mit Informatikern der ASV Leipzig auf die Suche nach Veränderungen in Begründungsmustern von Politik in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.

Unter dem Stichwort „Postdemokratie“ werden in der Politischen Theorie aktuelle Entwicklungstendenzen der Demokratie intensiv und kritisch diskutiert. Politik wird zunehmend als unter dem Diktat von Märkten stehend wahrgenommen. Neoliberale Politiken wie Privatisierung und Deregulierung gelten vielfach als alternativlos. Im Ergebnis kommt es zur die Zunahme von Politikverdrossenheit, sinkender Wahlbeteiligung, verschärften Sozialproteste oder dem Aufstieg populistischer Parteien. Die Qualität der Demokratie entferne sich zunehmend vom Ideal der freien und gleichen Beteiligung möglichst Aller, so die Diagnose.

Das Forschungsprojekt hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die Postdemokratiethese für die Bundesrepublik erstmals umfassend empirisch zu analysieren. Dazu wird vor allem die Relevanzverschiebung neoliberaler Leitideen im Zeitraum von 1949 bis 2011 anhand einer Diskursanalyse untersucht. Neben qualitativen Ausprägungen werden dabei vor allem auch quantitative Verteilungen und Veränderungen politischer Argumentationsmuster in den Blick genommen. In einem innovativen Forschungsdesign werden mehr als 3,5 Millionen Texte aus Tageszeitungen und Wochenzeitschriften mit verschiedenen Verfahren der der Automatische Sprachverarbeitung ausgewertet.

Poster
Gerhard, Heyer; Schaal, Gary; Sebastian Dumm; Matthias Lemke; Andreas Niekler; Gregor Wiedemann (2013): Zur Nutzung neoliberaler Argumentationen in der bundesdeutschen Politik 1949–2011. Poster zum Kickoff-Workshop der eHumanities-Verbundprojekte 2013, 08./09. Arpil 2013, Leipzig. [Link zur PDF]

Kooperationspartner

Prof. Dr. Gary S. Schaal
Helmut-Schmidt-Universität Hamburg
Lehrstuhl für Politische Theorie
Postfach 700822
22008 Hamburg
http://www.hsu-hh.de/politiktheorie


Förderprogramm: BMBF
Partner: Helmut-Schmidt-Universität Hamburg
Zeitrahmen: 05/2012 - 04/2015

Kontakt: Andreas Niekler, Dr. Gregor Wiedemann, Prof. Dr. Gerhard Heyer

Veröffentlichungen

other link iconWeitere Informationen